The Awards are open to all individual radio and audio producers, who are either UK-based or provide programmes broadcasters based in the UK, Channel Islands and Isle of Man, including:



and staff of and contributors to:

  • BBC networks
  • BBC local and regional stations
  • Ofcom-licensed commercial stations
  • Ofcom-licensed community stations     
  • SRA affiliated student radio stations
  • HBA affiliated hospital radio stations
  • audiobook producers
  • audio content for online distributors (eg Audible)

Entries are also welcome from audio producers working primarily in the digital sector on output for commercial or not-for-profit audio streams and podcasts.

The Grassroots Production Award is also open to teams and companies, while the Indie of the Year award is only open to companies - again either UK-based or providing programmes for broadcasters based in the UK, Channel Islands and Isle of Man.

Conflict of Interest: individuals or companies directly involved in production and/or sponsorship of these Awards may be excluded from entry in certain categories; any potential conflicts of interest will be decided by the independent Chair of Judges.

In view of the rapidly-changing audio production sector the Organisers are willing to consider requests for eligibility from creators / producers who do not fit any of the above categories.  Please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. in the first instance and at least 7 days before the closing date.


Pictures from the Audio Production Awards Gala Night 2017!

(note that gallery above may take a few seconds to load ... please be patient ...)

Sponsored by Audible UK, the event took place at the prestigious BFI Southbank in London on Thursday 23rd November. 

Hosted by Trevor Nelson MBE, DJ and presenter, proceedings began with a sparkling drinks reception and gorgeous bowl food in the Riverfront Café with its spectacular night-time views over the River Thames.

The main ceremony began at 7.30pm in the flagship NFT1 Auditorium at the BFI, with special sets from comedian Mark Watson, comedy improv group the Noise Next Door, and magician Lance-Corporal Richard Jones

Photographs above, of this year's event, by Cassy at Bellanova Photography.

Award Categories (2017 - archived)

for full details click here

Best Arts/Music Documentary/Feature Maker

Best Current Affairs Documentary/Feature Maker

Best Creative Documentary/Feature Maker

Best Comedy Producer

Best Entertainment Producer

Best Music Producer

Best Sound Designer/Engineer

Best Podcast Producer

Best Digital Producer

Best Drama Producer

Best Audiobook/Readings Producer

Best New Producer

Best Station Sound Producer

Grassroots Production  Award

Best Presenter - Speech

Best Presenter - Music

New Voice Award

Gold Award 

Indie Of The Year  


The Organisers in 2018


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. was the Project Manager and in particular the Event Producer for the Gala Night.

RIG MD, Will Jackson, was Chair of our wonderful Judges.

Matt Taylor created the logo, and nearly all the graphics for AudioUK and Audiotrain.

This website was created and is maintained by Mike Hally, email is This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  

It is based on the Joomla! Content Management System, it uses a template created by Joomla51 and the site is hosted by Patrick Internet.  

All photographs were taken by Bellanova Photography, unless otherwise credited.


and our judges this year will be listed here after the Awards Night


The Audio Production Awards 2017

sponsored by Audible


organised by the Radio Independents Group  

Photographs by Cassy at Bellanova Photography
Now in their ninth year, the mission of the Audio Production Awards is to recognise and celebrate outstanding achievement in audio and radio production within the designated categories covering both producers and on-mic talent.
Entries opened at noon on the 29th August, and closed at midnight on 26th September. 
Awards were presented at a Gala Night at the BFI Southbank on 23rd November - the winners are listed here.